General FAQs

How do I install the Jobjar app?

Please go to the Google or Apple App store and download the App for free. You may also use the Jobjar portal on a computer.

Can I get support if I get stuck?

We are here to assist, please email us at hello@jobjar.co.uk if you have problems using the App or website. Expect a response within 24 hours.

FAQs for candidates

What is a personal video statement?

You can make a 30-second video statement in the app using your phone. It gives you the opportunity to tell your prospective employer what you have done and show your face and personality. Tell them about something that could be helpful in the type of role you are applying for, for example

  • the event you ran
  • the sports team you were part of
  • the outreach activities you supported
  • the theatre production you were part of
  • your work experience.

We suggest you note down the most important points you want to convey and put them into context so that the prospective employer gets the picture. Edit it down to 30 seconds and practice saying it outloud. Then record your statement. You can re-record it as many times as you like until you’re happy with it. Then save it.

You should speak clearly and we suggest you sit or stand facing the camera with a neutral-tone, quiet background.

You can also record an audio-only message if you prefer, or skip this step altogether.

See examples of personal statements.

Who can see my profile?

Your full profile (including your video or audio statement) can only be seen by recruiters with a Jobjar account to whom you have given permission. In other words, the recruiter can see your complete profile if (a) if you apply for their specific job or (b) the recruiter reaches out to you, and you accept their invitation to connect.

Recruiters with a Jobjar account can see your anonymised written profile (not video or audio statements) and on this basis they may choose to reach out to you. If you accept their invitation to connect, they will be able to see your whole profile.

If you do not want recruiters to see your profile – for example, because you have found a job - change your to “deactivate” . Recruiters will not be able to see it but it will be available to you if you want to re-activate it at a later date.

Can I delete my profile?

Yes, contact us to delete your profile.

You can also deactivate your account. This will stop your profile being visible to recruiters, but you can activate it again at a later date.

What if I change my profile after I have applied for a job?

If you have connected to a recruiter and are in a recruitment process with them, then they will have your original application profile in their records. If you change your profile after applying, only new recruiters will see the updated profile.

What does it cost?

Nothing!

There have recently been a number of recruitment frauds operating in different parts of the world where individuals are contacting job seekers claiming to represent genuine employers, offering them roles and then asking for payments to cover a range of expenses and administration costs. Jobjar will never ask for payment from jobseekers at any stage in the recruitment process. We also believe it unlikely that the companies using the Jobjar app will ask for any sort of payment.

To avoid falling victim to recruitment fraud we strongly suggest:

  • Do not to respond to unsolicited offers from people you are unfamiliar with
  • Do not disclose personal or financial details to anyone you do not know
  • Check any documents for poor grammar and spelling as this is often a warning sign of fraud
  • Beware of employers or agents using webmail email addresses such as @Yahoo or @Hotmail
  • If you are asked for payment of any kind from a recruiter, this is very likely to be fraud.


FAQs for companies

What is a company video statement?

You can make a 30-second video statement in the app using your phone. It gives you the opportunity to tell your prospective new hire more about your company, ideas, team or open role and show them your company’s personality. Here are some ideas,

  • as a start- up, what is the buzz that will change the world?
  • why are you recruiting, who are you looking for?
  • the outreach activities you supported

Make sure you set the scene and pin down the most important points you want to convey. Edit it down to 30 seconds and practice saying it outloud. Then record your video. You can re-record it as many times as you like until you’re happy with it. Then save it.

You can also record an audio-only message if you prefer, or skip this step altogether

How can I share information with colleagues?

You can share information with up to five colleagues by entering their emails in the Jobjar workflow. They will receive an email when there is a change in status of an application and are invited to log into Jobjar to review the changes. They can see candidate profiles and statements, recordings of interviews and interviewer notes and add their own feedback.

What is the Jobjar workflow?

The Jobjar workflow takes you through the recruitment process to the hiring point, giving you the tools to move swiftly from one stage to the next without losing control of the process, even when your daily business gets busy. The workflow and toolbox lets you speed up the hiring process by

  • posting your job and a personal message to job seekers
  • access a focussed database graduates and job seekers looking for entry jobs, summer jobs and internships
  • get automatic matches to your notice or review the candidate database
  • share information with selected colleagues automatically
  • set up, take, record and annotate interviews online through the app
  • share interview recordings and pool notes with colleagues
  • direct message candidates

What does it cost to post a job?

Jobjar recruiters can register for free. You can access your account and previous posts and successful candidate profiles. To post a job you need to buy a credit. One credit allows you to post one job.

How long will my job be posted?

You can set the date when your job posting will be taken down. We normally suggest six weeks from the posting date. We ask that you remove the job once it is filled or you no longer need it. This helps to keep the database clean and more usable for candidates.

Get in touch

We'd love to hear from you.